Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Poetry Workshop at Minehead Library

Friday 18 Jan 2pm–4pm, 2019

To make a booking enquiry please complete the form below. We will contact you to confirm availability and complete your booking.

Event Enquiry

  • Halsway Manor will not share your details with any third parties.



This is a free event.
Booking is essential as places are limited.

An informal poetry writing workshop for aspiring writers of all levels, whether you’ve been writing for years or have recently become curious, write alone or are part of a local writing group, do come and learn from the experience of these two brilliant poets and create new work. Amy and Rebecca will also discuss their Halsway residency and share some of their work so far.

Who’s it For?

For aspiring writers of all levels of experience.

The Tutors

Rebecca Perry and Amy Key are Halsway Manor’s poets in residence, as part of our Heritage Lottery Fund activities. The writers have been absorbing the world of the manor, researching in the library, exploring the surrounding area and creating a new collaborative body of work inspired by their time here, which will shortly be published in pamphlet form.

Rebecca Perry is the author of a number of publications including 2015’s Beauty/Beauty, published by Bloodaxe books, which was a Poetry Book Society Recommendation, shortlisted for the T S Eliot Prize, the Seamus Heaney Prize for Best First Collection, The Fenton Aldeburgh Prize for Best First Collection and winner of the Michael Murphy Memorial Prize.

Amy Key is the author of tIsn’t Forever, Bloodaxe books and Luxe, Salt Publishing, 2013, as well as two pamphlets. Isn’t Forever is a Poetry Book Society Wild Card Choice. She founded the wonderful, now archived journal, Poems in Which, which Rebecca later also edited.

Both poets have published extensively in magazines and anthologies, run workshops and worked as editors, supporting new up and coming poets as well as developing their own work.

The residency is supported by Heritage Lottery Fund.